Old Hobartian Association

Home » 2017 » December

Monthly Archives: December 2017

Minutes of 2017 AGM

Minutes of the 100th Annual General Meeting held at Turnbull Family Funerals, 71 Letitia St
North Hobart on Wednesday 15th November 2017 at 5.30p.m.
Present: Ann Hopkins, (Chairman) Greg Jackson (Secretary), Bill Brundle, Margaret Keogh, Alan
Keogh, Carlene Jackson, Don Jones, Rosemary Laver, Janetta Nicholson, John Nicholson, David
Green, Bill Casimaty, Ralph Tapping, Ted Best, Rex Wilson, Max Brown, Andrew Ross, Mary
Marsh, Fred Westwood.
1. Apologies: Margaret Price, Peter Stone, Marjorie Deeth, Gerald Parsell, John Berry, John
Sutton, Sally Poole, Julie Bullen, Graeme Hitchcock, Graeme Mills, Pauline Dobson, Mary
2. Minutes: Minutes of the 99th AGM were read by the secretary.
It was moved Margaret Keogh seconded Bill Brundle that the Minutes be confirmed
3. Business Arising:
The surplus Centenary Books have been given to the Hobart College for presentations.
4. President’s Report: The President presented and read her report, noting that:
 This year is the 100th anniversary of the construction of the Old School building; it was
opened on the 18th December 1917.
 Attendance at our Monthly luncheons and Annual Social events is still strong.
 The OHA/UTAS scholarship continues to attract donations from old scholars.
 There has been a decline in membership largely due to the advancing years of our
She moved and Margaret Keogh seconded that the report be received. CARRIED
5. Financial Statements: In presenting the statement of Income and Expenditure and the
audited financial statement for 2016/2017, the Hon. Treasurer noted that the deficit of income
over expenditure was due to the transfer of $1000 from the current account to the Investment
account. He also noted that we have 41 un-financial members.
Before moving a motion to accept the financial statements, the Hon. Treasurer reported that, `
In accordance with the Australian Government and the Australian Taxation Office reference
NAT 7966, the OHA is classed as a non-profit association established for community service
purposes. This grants the OHA Income Tax exempt status and a review of the Association’s
activities confirm that during the twelve month period to 30 September, 2017 there has been no
major change in structure or activity to alter this exemption status.’
In concluding his report, the Hon. Treasurer thanked Greg Jackson and Max Brown for their
The Treasurer moved that the report be accepted. Seconded Carlene Jackson CARRIED.
Website: http://www.oha.asn.au President: Ann Hopkins Ph 03 62442140; Treasurer: Andrew Ross Ph 03 62444628
Secretary: Greg Jackson Ph03 62437062, 4 Kent Street Lindisfarne Tasmania 7015 Email: grjacbj@internode.on.net
6. Election of Officers: The Secretary reported that sufficient valid nominations were received
prior to the commencement of the meeting to fill all positions and that the following are
elected unopposed.
President: Ann Hopkins
I/P President: Rosemary Laver
Vice President: Pauline Dobson
Hon, Secretary: Greg Jackson
Hon. Treasurer: Andrew Ross
Committee Members: – Graeme Hitchcock, Julie Bullen, Mary Marsh
Elected in 2016 and continuing- Bill Brundle, Margaret Keogh, Rex Wilson
The secretary noted that Ted Best had declined nomination to the
committee but is willing to continue to chair the Scholarship fund and attend
committee meetings when available.
Auditor: It was proposed G. Jackson, seconded A. Ross that Max Brown be appointed Auditor
7. Annual Subscriptions: Andrew Ross moved “the annual membership remain at $10 and
that all those with memberships for the life of the Association continue to be invited to make a
donation towards the Association’s funds. Seconded Rosie Laver. Carried.
8. General Business:
1. The President moved that Rex Wilson be awarded Life membership of the Association.
In proposing the motion she noted Rex’s outstanding service to the School, the College,
education in general and to the Association. Don Jones seconded the motion which was
put and carried unanimously.
She then presented Rex with a Life Member’s Certificate.
Rex spoke of the enjoyment he has gained from his involvement with the School and
the Association and thanked the members.
2. Ted Best recommended that the committee make further efforts to encourage Hobart
College alumni to join the Association.
3. Don Jones suggested that sporting clubs bearing the OHA name be encouraged to
4. Carlene Jackson suggested that attempts be made to obtain media interest related to
the age of the school and the building.
The President undertook to raise all issues at the first meeting of committee.
The next committee meeting will be on the first Tuesday in February
There being no further business the Chairman thanked those attending and closed the meeting
at 6.10 p.m.
Confirmed President
Note: Following the meeting members adjourned to the Black Buffalo Hotel for a meal

Events for 2018

December 2017
Events for 2018:
1. Barbecue at Waterworks Reserve site 9.
Sunday 11th February from about 11.30.
No need to book. BYO everything
2. Annual Dinner:
Friday 25th May. The University Club at UTAS
Date requested by John Berry of Canberra to facilitate travel bookings; why not do the
More details and booking notice will be sent in April.

Another item of interest re our memorabilia.
I recently received an e-mail, via our web site, from a 1976/77 HMC student who lives on the
mainland somewhere.
A prospective employer requires evidence of her attendance at HMC in 1977. The education
department of course doesn’t have records going back that far.
Lacking anything better she remembered that she had some artwork in the 1977 Log; could we
As it happens we have spare copies of the Logs for a number of years around that period (I have
them at home at the moment) so offered to copy the relevant pieces or send her the Logs.
I also pointed out that the Centenary Book Roll Call lists her name which was sourced from the
State Library Archives and that they can most probably provide her with copies of those records.
She was delighted and grateful that something of a last ditch enquiry bore fruit.
Rex Wilson receiving his Life
Membership certificate from Ann
at the AGM.
Catering room at Turnbull’s –
formerly E1/E2 class rooms
Once again we’ve held subscriptions to the ridiculously low cost of $10.00
Payment may be made by forwarding a cheque to Mr. A. Ross; PO Box 1125; Rosny park; Tas. 7018.
OR by direct credit to Old Hobartian Association; CBA Rosny Park; BSB 067006; A/c No. 28001516.
Remember to include your name as reference.
We allow two year’s grace; i.e. if you didn’t pay in 2016 we will keep you on the mailing list for next
If you don’t get this notice next year it means you’ve missed two years and will be
Don’t forget that we invite those who paid a ‘Membership for Life’ some years ago to make a
donation equivalent to the annual subscription.
According to my records you last paid your subscription or made a ‘Member for Life’ donation for
the …………………………….. year
Please forgive me if you paid in December this year.