Old Hobartian Association

Home » About



The Old Hobartian Association (OHA) exists to provide former students of Hobart High School, Hobart Matriculation College and Hobart College a forum to meet socially with their peers, celebrate their history and enjoy each other’s company.
New members are always welcome to join in our activities {FIND OUT MORE}. If you are not yet a member – please join us. Our annual fee for membership is just $10.00.
For membership enquiries please contact the secretary, Greg Jackson, on 0362 437062 or email Greg at greg.jackson@oha.asn.au
Old Hobartian Association – as much history as the school itself!
The Old Hobartian Association (OHA) was formed in June 1915, just two years after the school became a reality, under the Presidency of Mr P. H. Mitchell the founding headmaster.

It soon became a strong and influential organisation in the Hobart community, generating sporting, social and cultural activities. It also fulfilled an important role as an advocate for the school when public issues arose.

The golden years of the organisation were also the “dancing years” at the Belvedere ballroom, in lower Argyle Street; the hub of the social world for Hobart teenagers in general and Hobart High School students in particular through the 1950s and 1960s. Each Friday night youngsters spilled onto the street as they filed eagerly into Mrs Donnelly’s dancing class.

The OHA lost its icons: the Belvedere in 1966, the beloved High School itself in 1965 and the revered school buildings in 1995. These should have been mortal blows to the organisation.
To the contrary, the Final Assembly at the old school site in 1995 was a triumph for loyalty and camaraderie. Over a thousand old scholars attended that memorable function and since then the OHA has experienced a quiet resurgence. Current membership is around 225 former students and teachers, and growing. The OHA museum , located at the old school in Letitia Street, also gets regular visitors. {FIND OUR MORE}
In March 2013 the 100th Centenary of Hobart high School, Hobart Matriculation College and Hobart College was celebrated with a wide range of events over five days. Highlights were the coffee table book published recording the history of public education in Hobart and the perpetual scholarship established in association with UTas. Details and photos are elsewhere on this site.
Our luncheons on the first Tuesday each month are popular, as are our special functions held throughout each year {FIND OUT MORE}.

Following the Annual General meeting in 2017 the following is the new committee:.
President – Ann Hopkins
Vice-President – Pauline Dobson
Immediate Past President – Rosie Laver
Secretary – Greg Jackson
Treasurer – Andrew Ross
Committee – Graham Hitchcock  , Julie Bullen, Ted Best,  Rex Wilson, Margaret Keogh, Bill Brundle.
Auditor – Max Brown

OHA Home   –   About   –  Events   –   Centenary 1915   –   Scholarship

OHA Centenary Book   –   2013 Reunion   –   Gallery   –   Museum   –   Contact   –   Links

%d bloggers like this: